The results are in and it’s official! Santolin Wines has been awarded the “International Chardonnay Trophy” at this years 2015 Decanter Asia Wine Awards, for our 2013 Individual Vineyard Chardonnay.

This is the fifth trophy and second international trophy awarded to this wine – our first ever Chardonnay release.  We’re stoked!

The DAWA 2015 judging panel consists of over 40 judges, ranging from sommeliers, wine writers, wine educators to importers. The panel is chaired by Steven Spurrier, and led by a group of experienced and internationally renowned vice-chairs including Shinya Tasaki, Li Demei, Andrew Jefford, Michael Hill Smith MW, Gerard Basset MS MW, and Ch’ng Poh Tiong. The entire panel’s extensive experience of the Asian wine industry makes them ideally placed to taste and score the wines entered into the Decanter Asia Wine Awards yielding recommendations to wine lovers across the Asia region.

There were more than 2500 entries into this year’s competition.  All wines are rigorously blind tasted and a panel of judges discuss each wine individually. The very best of the gold medal winners from a particular region are awarded regional trophies, and the very best of the regional trophies go on to win international trophies.

“Mineral toned nose with a hint of roast nuts.  The palate is intense with judicious, subtle oak, savoury undertones and a seriously great line of acid runs the length of the structured palate ensuring that the delicious mango and lemon flavours retain a refreshing crunch”
– DAWA Judges notes

2013 SANTOLIN CHARDONNAY additional accolades:
“BEST NEW WORLD CHARDONNAY” Trophy, 2014 Hong Kong International Wine and Spirits
“BEST WINE OF SHOW” Trophy, 2014 Riverina Wine Show
“BEST WHITE WINE OF SHOW” Trophy, 2014 Riverina Wine Show
“BEST ONE YEAR OLD CHARDONNAY” Trophy, 2014 Riverina Wine Show
GOLD medal 2015 Decaanter Asia Wine Awards
GOLD medal 2014 Hong Kong International Wine and Spirits
GOLD medal 2014 Riverina Wine Show
Selected by Qantas, International Business Class Inflight program 2015